11 Jan

Prithvi Jayanti

15 Jan

Maghe Sankranti

25 Jan

Sonam Losar

30 Jan

Martyrs’ Day

19 Feb

Prajatantra Diwas

21 Feb

Maha Shivaratri

25 Feb

Ghyalpo Losar

08 Mar

International Women’s Day

02 Apr

Ghode Jatra (Kathmandu Valley only)

02 Apr

Ram Navami

14 Apr

Nepali New Year

24 Apr

Loktantra Diwas

01 May

Labour Day

07 May

Buddha Jayanti

25 May

Ramjan Edul Fikra

28 May

Ganatantra Diwas

31 Jul

Edul Aajaha

03 Aug

Raksha Bandhan

11 Aug

Shree Krishna Janmashtami

11 Aug

Gai Jatra (Kathmandu Valley only)

21 Aug

Hartalika Teej (only for Female Employees)

23 Aug

Rishi Panchami (only for Female Employees)

26 Aug

Gaura Parba

01 Sep

Indra Jatra (Kathmandu Valley)

07 Sep

Nijamati Sewa Diwas (only for Civil Employees)

19 Sep

Constitution Day

17 Oct


23 Oct


24 Oct

Maha Ashtami

25 Oct

Maha Navami

26 Oct

Vijaya Dashami

27 Oct


28 Oct


30 Oct

Kojagrat Purnima

15 Nov

Laxmi Puja

16 Nov

Govardhan Puja

17 Nov

Bhai Tika

20 Nov

Chhath Puja

30 Nov

Guru Nanak Jayanti (only for Sikhs)

25 Dec

Christmas Day (only for Christians)

29 Dec

Udauli Parva

30 Dec

Tamu Losar

The public holiday dates listed above refer to non-working public holidays, whose dates may, in some countries, and some years, differ from the historical / commemorative dates.
In most cases, when a holiday falls on a weekend, the following weekday will be a holiday observance.
Every effort has been made to ensure the above information is correct at time of printing. However, some dates are subject to change and advice should be sought from the embassy concerned.